Currently reading: The Bell by Iris Murdoch
Currently listening to: The university bell ringing the hour (ie. I should be doing work but I’ve started a blog instead)

Having an excellent bookshop on campus is a dangerous thing. When the writing gets too hard, when I’m experiencing a sugar crash, when it’s cold outside, when the office is too hot, when it’s pay-day (as it is today) or when I am wearing shoes, it feels like a good idea to stroll up to the bookshop and see what’s going on. Usually I leave with at least one book, sometimes more.

I have been sucked right in to the marketing campaign of Vintage with their sumptuous ( I don’t use that word lightly, or regularly) covers to celebrate their 21st birthday. The velvet touch and saturated colours are irresistible, as is the price, and I just happened to buy myself two new books from that range. What I love most of all is the colour appropriateness of it all. I recently read The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood in its velvet crimson covered addition and it added so much to the reading experience. A link to the collection, http://www.readings.com.au/collection/vintage-21-rainbow-classics. While reading it, I was Offred surrounded by the red hood of the handmaids, totally immersed in her world.The other Vintage release I purchased was Orange Are Not the Only Fruit by Jeanette Winterson, suitably covered in a beautiful deep tangerine orange. Looking forward to reading it as it comes highly recommended by J, my book friend.

My intention with this blog is to chronicle the books that I read through the coming year. For the past few years I have looked back and found it so very difficult to remember all of the wonderful books I have read, so this is my attempt at keeping track. Sure, I could write it down on paper, but that would be really procrastinating and I have a thesis to write goddamnit.Also, a cautionary note. Blog posts will be littered with incorrect spelling and grammar. It’s how I roll.

This year has not been a stunning year for my reading. The selection has mostly been a sea of ordinary, dotted with islands of brilliance that make the journey feel worthwhile. Most of the good ones have been science fiction.

My top five for 2011

-The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
-The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula LeGuin
-Her Father’s Daughter by Alice Pung
-The Memory, Sorrow and Thorn trilogy by Tad Williams
-The Bell by Iris Murdoch (I’m still reading it but I already know it will be in the top five.)
-Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery (cause I’m innumerate)

Here’s to a good year of reading in 2012!

